Alberta Forrest

National Safety Code

In Canada, regulations governing commercial vehicles, drivers and motor carriers are based on the Canadian National Safety Code (NSC) standards. The NSC is a code of minimum performance standards, applying to all persons responsible for the safe operation of commercial vehicles. There are 15 NSC standards, ranging from commercial driver licence requirements to carrier facility audits.

NSC Standard 1

Single Driver Licence Concept

Legislation that prohibits the holding of more than one valid and subsisting driver licence issued by a competent authority in Canada. It also represents a series of administrative procedures have been agreed upon to ensure driving infractions are assigned to a single licence and record.

NSC Standard 2

Knowledge and Performance Tests (Drivers)

Sets out the process for standardized testing of commercial drivers and includes the criteria for both written and road tests. It also identifies the key elements which will be evaluated by government officials charged with administering the tests.

NSC Standard 3

Driver / Examiner Training Program

Designed to upgrade the skills and knowledge of driver examiners and ensure they are consistent across Canada.

NSC Standard 4

Clasified Driver Licencing System

Renders more uniform the classification and endorsement system for driver licences and ensures that a licence issued in one province/territory is recognized in all provinces/territories.

NSC Standard 5

Self-Certification Standards and Procedures

Outlines the criteria which must be met to permit carriers and driver training schools to train commercial drivers.

NSC Standard 6

Medical Standards for Drivers (revised August 2011)

The CCMTA Medical Standards for Drivers, initially Standard 6 of the National Safety Code for Motor Carriers, sets the medical criteria used to establish whether drivers are medically fit to drive.

NSC Standard 7

Carrier and Driver Profiles (November 2002)

Designed to provide jurisdictions with a record of driver and carrier performance in terms of compliance with safety rules and regulations. The standard supports enforcement activity to remove unsatisfactory drivers and carriers from service, and identifies the type of information which will be maintained on each commercial driver and carrier.

NSC Standard 8

Short Term Suspension

Describes the criteria for placing a driver out of service on a short-term (24 hour) basis when a peace officer has reasonable and probable grounds to believe the driver’s ability is affected by alcohol or drugs.

NSC Standard 9

Hours of Service

Ddescribes the number of hours a federally regulated commercial driver can be on duty and operate a commercial vehicle. It outlines the requirement to complete daily logs, describes the various cycles of operation and sets out driver and carrier record keeping requirements.

Hours of Service Application Guide
Intraprovincial Regulations Implementation Update (May 2009)

NSC Standard 10

Cargo Securement

Outlines the specific requirements for securing loads to commercial vehicles to ensure they do not shift, move or spill onto the roadway.

NSC Standard 11

Commercial Vehicle Maintenance and Inspection (PMVI) Standards (January 2006)

Outlines maintenance and periodic inspections.

NSC Standard 12

CVSA On-Road Inspections

Contains the Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance on-road inspection criteria (copyrighted through the CVSA).

NSC Standard 13

Trip Inspection (updated March 2009)

Prescribes daily trip inspection requirements. Intended to promote an improved level of safety and compliance in commercial vehicles operating on the highway.

Schedule of Provincial Implementation (updated November 2011)

NSC Standard 14

Safety Rating (updated August 2009)

Establishes the motor carrier safety rating framework by which each jurisdiction assesses the safety performance of motor carriers.

NSC Standard 15

Facility Audits (December 2009)

Outlines the audit process used by jurisdictions to determine a carrier’s level of compliance with all applicable safety standards.

NSC Standard 16

First Aid Training

A voluntary standard which outlines the basic elements which should be contained in a basic first aid course for commercial drivers.