Displaying results for


Forestry at the Legislature

Posted by AFPA | March 3, 2017

Thank you to those who supported the AFPA’s Forestry at the Legislature event. We had a great opportunity to talk to MLAs and community leaders about forest sustainability and forestry jobs.

The following Ministers and MLAs participated in the event:

Honourable Deron Bilous, Minister of Economic Development and Trade
Honourable Oneil Carlier, Minister of Agriculture and Forestry
Honourable Shaye Anderson, Minister of Municipal Affairs
Honourable Danielle Larivee, Minister of Children’s Services
Erin Babcock, MLA for Stony Plain
Bruce Hinkley, MLA for Wetaskiwin-Camrose
Jamie Kleinsteuber, MLA for Calgary-Northern Hills
Jessica Littlewood, MLA for Fort Saskatchewan-Vegreville
Annie McKitrick, MLA for Sherwood Park
Colin Piquette, MLA for Athabasca-Sturgeon-Redwater
Eric Rosendahl, MLA for West Yellowhead
Kim Schreiner, MLA for Red Deer-North
Heather Sweet, MLA for Edmonton-Manning
Bob Turner, MLA for Edmonton-Whitemud
Cameron Westhead, MLA for Banff-Cochrane

IMG_0296IMG_0336IMG_0448IMG_0406IMG_0386 IMG_0352IMG_0330IMG_0310IMG_0319


Alberta Forest Products Association

AFPA is a non-profit association that represents Alberta’s forest industry. We support our members in reaching new heights of sustainability, safety, efficiency and innovation, and we give Albertans opportunities to learn about our forests and the forest industry.

Read more

Work Wild is here to help people who are looking for a career they’ll love – whether you’re a high school student evaluating career options for the first time, or looking to make a change in your career.

If you’d like more information about employment opportunities in the forest industry, you can find job profiles, current job postings, scholarships and more here.


96% of Alberta’s managed forests (where forest companies operate) are independently certified for sustainability.

Learn more about the forest industry's sustainable forest management practices.

Forest Management